Technology, Speed and Fireplaces

After spending a month off-line, I was convinced it is essential for one’s health.  The neck and shoulder aches were gone, I read more in the papers and had conversations over breakfasts rather than over emails.  In East Africa, I appreciated the big landscapes, time that stood still and poli poli (slowly slowly in Swahili) way of life.

Once back to my ‘real’ world, I found out from a friend on Facebook how to fold bottom sheets (with the help of a You Tube video).  This has always been a mystery for me so indeed I appreciated the quick and very interesting information.  For me, the simple discovery epitomized the wonderfully bizarre information era we live in.

This morning I am reading in Wired Magazine about a company that specializes in creating in demand online videos.  It’s about making the cheapest, fastest content for Internet users that are searching through their 4000 videos and articles published every single day.    Likely they are the ones who solicited the bed sheet folding video.  Pretty amazing.  I wonder what else I might learn about if I type my questions into google?

My work takes me into the world of technology as well as the world of people.  I enjoy the slowness off-line but I also depend on the Internet, media and globalization for my livelihood.  How else could I live in the woods and continue to connect, share and collaborate on projects all over the world?

This morning I am reflecting on the irony of all these different realities.  I may stay at this computer and catch up on emails and work.  Or I may head back to the fireplace and watch the flicker from the couch with hot tea in hand.  Both are good…but…the fireplace wins this morning.

1 Comment

Filed under knowledge management, Rural development

One response to “Technology, Speed and Fireplaces

  1. Fireweed

    Arggh! I dream of a month off – the computer-induced neck and back pains are killing me today! And my eyes are aching. It must be essential to our health to at least seriously limit our time on-line.

    It’s all about balance, isn’t it? The technology is only as useful to us as we are wise enough to use it.

    Yes, it’s a great way to connect, but how real, how lasting and how memorable are those connections? I’m not sure about that, but I LOVE that it makes it possible to live in the woods, earn a living, and be, perhaps, a little less isolated.

    I say perhaps because I’m still not convinced we are that much more connected than we were, socially at least, than when we had to rely on the more substantial mediums of phone calls, letters, and visiting (visiting that wasn’t interrupted by texting!!). I understan this is becoming a pointlessly nostalgic comparison though, kind of like remembering what it was like to get around by horse instead of automobile.

Leave a Reply

