Keeping KM simple

People ask me to define KM all the time. After working in the field for 5 years, I still have trouble with my 10 second elevator speech. I am coming to realize that the definition is dependant on context. Still, two particular ideas resonate with me and I have been using them in a course I teach on the subject.

The first is a picture of a bicycle and all its parts. The parts are impressive on their own but the bike only functions extraordinarily when they are working together as a team. I like this metaphor for organizations.

The second is something I heard at a KM workshop. The person suggested that at the end of each week you should stop and ask, “To whom did I listen to this week and what did I learn?”

KM is about working smarter which demands you are always learning from your peers and using your team effectively.

Leave a comment

Filed under knowledge management

Leave a Reply

